Is anyone as addicted as I am to mobile connectivity?

Hi…my name is Steve, and I’m a mobile addict. That’s the first step, right? Admitting you have a problem? Wait…is it really a problem?
In today’s day and age, being connected is easier and more convenient than ever. I honestly can’t leave the house without my iPhone; I’d probably feel less-stressed leaving my wallet or shoes at home. That’s because I just know that if I’m out without it, that will be the time I need to use it most. And I’m suffering with the lowly, one-year-old, nearly-antiquated iPhone 3GS – I can’t imagine my separation anxiety if I had the iPhone 4! (On a related note…I’m waiting until the world-ending iPhone 4 antenna issue is fixed before I upgrade).

Working from the beach...But there’s a method behind my madness. Having such connectivity allows me to stay in touch with my office, my clients, my suppliers, from wherever I am. I don’t need to be strapped to a desk – and more importantly, people don’t need to wait to get a hold of me. It’s near-instant response to problems, questions, concerns, etc. – and isn’t that a good thing?
Yes, I admit…it’s sometimes sad to be pecking away at the 3 inch keyboard during dinner, or at my son’s baseball game, or while horseback riding in the Costa Rican rainforest (tough job I have, I know), but if the ultimate result is a satisfied client, a fixed problem, a saved sale? In the long run it’s worth it…it’s about efficiency. (And to you Blackberry users out there…I dare you to book a client’s reservation from that browser…go iPhone, or go home…)
Today’s world isn’t the flourescent-lit cubicle, the 9 to 5 commute, the suit and tie, the endless conference calls. Today’s world is tweeting from the wifi-enabled Airbus 321 30,000 feet over the Gulf of Mexico, typing up a letter from a beach bed overlooking the Caribbean, taking care of a client’s reservation from the mojito lounge…all of which I’ve done. I wouldn’t have it any other way.
What are your thoughts?
-S
Leave a Reply

